North Sea Region programme 2007-2013

Climate Proof Areas is selected by Europe to be part of the Interreg IVB North Sea Region programme.  The countries in the North Sea Regions share many problems and challenges. By working together and sharing knowledge and experiences it is hoped that a sustainable and balanced future will be secured for the whole region. Climate Proof Areas fits perfectly in this story in the aim and objectives of the European Territorial Co-operation programme,  gathered in four priorities.

  1. Increases the overall level of innovation taking place across the North Sea Region,
  2. Enhances the quality of the environment in the North Sea Region,
  3. Improves the accessibility of places in the North Sea Region,
  4. Delivers sustainable and competitive communities.

The 2007-2013 Programme connects regions from seven countries around the North Sea, incorporating policy level planning and the long lasting and tangible effects of projects. These are the foundations of the future transnational projects, which will create added value to partner regions and beyond.

The North Sea Region

The North Sea Region Programme countries are Sweden, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, the Flemish Region of Belgium, the UK and Norway. The North Sea connects them all. The region covers an area of 664.000 km2 and a population of approximately 60 million.


The North Sea Region Programme is financed through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).  The Programme finances a wide range of projects concerned with regional development like Climate Proof Areas.

If you like to know more about the North Sea Programme, you can visit their website.